Indianapolis 500 Oldtimers

Founded in 1961, the mission of the Indianapolis 500 Oldtimers is to provide guidance for the younger racing generation, bring about recognition of persons outstanding at the Indianapolis 500, promote fellowship among its members and further the interest of automobile racing generally.

Members shall be persons having been engaged actively in the Indianapolis 500 for 20 years or more from date of membership application. Those who qualify and wish to be considered for membership should contact an active member of the club to sponsor their application.

One of the benefits of Oldtimers membership is a quarterly newsletter full of  Indianapolis 500 information and historical features. The newsletter is printed and mailed to members, but members also can view it on this website by registering through the tab above. Shortly after registration, members will receive their Members Section password in a separate email.

Want to see what’s happening in the News Corner? Click the button in the Members section for the latest information.

And be sure to read the “My Favorite 500 Moment” section, stories from our Members that all of us can relate to. Submit your stories for posting to

The countdown to the 108th Indianapolis 500 is on!


My Favorite '500' Memory

Oldtimers Events

Tuesday, May 21, 2024
Annual BBQ

Wednesday, May 22, 2024
Bill Marvel Women's Charity Golf Outing
Benefitting USAC RaceAid

Thursday, May 23, 2024
Oldtimers Special Recognition Dinner

Tuesday, May 21, 2024
Ladies Luncheon

Safety Patrol Opportunities

Here is your chance to join the IMS Safety Patrol, which is responsible for the essential event operations that span the 988-acre world-class facility. The Safety Patrol delivers and contributes to some of the most exciting events at IMS, such as gate welcoming and ticket scanning, stand ushering, garage and pit action, traffic direction, or suite hospitality and assistance, among other duties. For more information or to apply, visit


(Photo Courtesy of INDYCAR Photo)

St. Petersburg Winner: Marcus Ericsson, Chip Ganassi Racing

Texas Motor Speedway Winner: Josef Newgarden, Team Penske

Long Beach Winner: Kyle Kirkwood, Andretti Autosport

Barber Motorsports Park Winner: Scott McLaughlin, Team Penske

GMR Grand Prix Winner (IMS Road Course): Alex Palou, Chip Ganassi Racing

107th Indianapolis 500 Winner: Josef Newgarden, Team Penske

Detroit Grand Prix Winner: Alex Palou, Chip Ganassi Racing

Road America Winner: Alex Palou, Chip Ganassi Racing

Mid-Ohio Winner: Alex Palou, Chip Ganassi Racing

Toronto Winner: Christian Lundgaard, Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing

Iowa Race 1 Winner: Josef Newgarden, Team Penske

Iowa Race 2 Winner: Josef Newgarden, Team Penske

Nashville Winner: Kyle Kirkwood, Andretti Autosport

Gallagher Grand Prix (IMS Road Course) Winner: Scott Dixon, Chip Ganassi Racing

World Wide Technology Raceway Winner: Scott Dixon, Chip Ganassi Racing

Portland Winner: Alex Palou, Chip Ganassi Racing

Laguna Seca Winner: Scott Dixon, Chip Ganassi Racing


(Photo Courtesy of INDYCAR Photo)


AJ Foyt Racing (Chevrolet): Santino Ferrucci, Benjamin Pedersen

Andretti Autosport (Honda): Colton Herta, Romain Grosjean, Devlin DeFrancesco, Kyle Kirkwood

Arrow McLaren Racing (Chevrolet): Pato O’Ward, Felix Rosenqvist, Alexander Rossi

Chip Ganassi Racing (Honda): Alex Palou, Scott Dixon, Marcus Ericsson, Marcus Armstrong (road courses and street circuits), Takuma Sato (ovals)

Dale Coyne Racing (Honda): David Malukas, Sting Ray Robb

Ed Carpenter Racing (Chevrolet): Rinus VeeKay, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Ed Carpenter (ovals)

Meyer Shank Racing (Honda): Helio Castroneves, Tom Blomqvist

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing (Honda): Graham Rahal, Juri Vips, Christian Lundgaard

Team Penske (Chevrolet): Josef Newgarden, Will Power, Scott McLaughlin

Juncos Hollinger Racing (Chevrolet): Callum Ilott, Agustin Canapino